LIVE WEBINAR

Expertise in Action: Navigating Adverse Action Under the FCRA

Wednesday, April 24, 2024
2 PM ET / 11 AM PT / 1 PM CT

Register now

Sterling is recognized by SHRM to offer Professional Development Credits (PDCs) for SHRM-CP® or SHRM-SCP® recertification activities.
HR Certification Institute’s® (www.HRCI.org) official seal confirms that Sterling meets the criteria for pre-approved recertification credit(s) for any of HRCI’s eight credentials, including SPHR® and PHR®. This program has been approved for 1 (HR (General)) recertification credit hour toward recertification through the HR Certification Institute.

Before an employer makes a decision to deny employment as a result of a background check, they must carefully follow the adverse action process as defined by the federal FCRA (Fair Credit Reporting Act).

But for many HR and compliance professionals, several questions still remain. What do you need to know to stay compliant with hiring and background screening laws?

In Sterling’s upcoming webinar, Sterling's Angela Preston and Shawn O'Neil will discuss the federally-mandated adverse action process, along with the many challenges for employers seeking to comply with the FCRA.

Learn best practices and suggested guidance concerning adverse action, including:

  • Overview of the two-step adverse action process, including helpful Do’s and Dont’s
  • Suggestions for creating an effective adverse action policy for your organization
  • Discussion of the information and documentation employers need to include to stay compliant during the process

Speakers

Shawn P. O’Neil,

CSAPA, CIPP/US, CIPP/E 
Compliance and Chief Privacy Officer
Vault Workforce Screening, A Sterling Company

Angela Preston

Associate General Counsel,
Corporate Ethics and Compliance
Sterling